Browsed by
Month: June 2008

Stolen! My Beloved Sony Ericsson P1i

Stolen! My Beloved Sony Ericsson P1i

Yesterday a pick pocket took my beloved Sony Ericsson P1i. I was buying fish at Yousfguda, Hyderabad and the thief was standing next to me. He was fiddling with a grubby baseball cap near my left shoulder. I glared in his direction a few times but politeness prevented me from digging him with an elbow. My fault. I should have bashed his bloody face in. He vanished after some time and I realized my phone was missing from my shirt…

Read More Read More

Dot Me. A domain that is just yours.

Dot Me. A domain that is just yours.

Net4.in, a web hosting provider in India is now providing .me domains for registration. My satpathy.in domain is hosted by them. Their advertisement email had the following: Dot Me. A domain that is just yours. Own a website and get it personalized to your name like never-before. With Net4’s Dot Me domain, now you can have website names like www.<yourname>.me. To know more about .Me domain, log on to www.net4.in.

FireFox 3 Download Day – 10.15 p.m, IST

FireFox 3 Download Day – 10.15 p.m, IST

Screen shot taken at 10.15 p.m., IST, June 18, 2008. When I made my previous post at 1.20 p.m. in the afternoon today, the number of downloads stood at 4,925,493. Way to go! I hope the World Record is achieved! I have done my bit and downloaded FireFox 3. I hope you have too. (Click for full size image)

FireFox 3 Is Here!

FireFox 3 Is Here!

FireFox 3 is available for download! The FireFox folks are trying to set a world record for the most downloads in 24 hours! Please download Firefox 3 by 11:16 a.m. PDT (18:16 UTC) on June 18, 2008. That’s 11:16 a.m. in Mountain View, 2:16 p.m. in Toronto, 3:16 p.m. in Rio de Janeiro, 8:16 p.m. in Paris, Madrid, Berlin, Rome and Warsaw, 10:16 p.m. in Moscow, and June 19, 2008 at 2:16 a.m. in Beijing and 3:16 a.m. in Tokyo….

Read More Read More

HDFC Mutual Fund – Online Investments Supports ICICI Bank

HDFC Mutual Fund – Online Investments Supports ICICI Bank

HDFC Mutual Fund’s online transaction platform now supports ICICI Bank for payments. Screen shot of HDFC Mutual Fund’s online purchase page (Click for full size image) With this addition the list of banks goes to: ICICI Bank State Bank of India HDFC Bank Citi Bank Axis Bank (Formerly UTI Bank) IDBI Bank Yes Bank Kotak Bank This is a fairly comprehensive list and represents a good cross-section of the retail banks in India. Till recently I was using Axis Bank…

Read More Read More

New TV & 5.1 Speakers

New TV & 5.1 Speakers

We bought a new LG 29″ TV and a set of Phillips 5.1 speakers on Saturday. This purchase is curtsey of SAIL which presented it’s employees with a home furnishing allowance recently. Armed with this we finally decided to retire our 11 year old TV set which I had purchased a few months before Padmaja & I were married. We made the purchases at eZone in City Center. Got a decent discount on the MRP for both the products. I…

Read More Read More

w.bloggar US English Spell Check Does Not Recognize June!

w.bloggar US English Spell Check Does Not Recognize June!

w.bloggar is a blog client and works very well. I have used it for about 2 weeks now and I think I will continue to use it for this blog. The editor is not WYSIWYG and exposes the HTML code but otherwise it is easy to use. At least for the kind of blog posts I normally make. When I was writing the previous post on Reliance Mutual Fund’s web site, I ran the w.bloggar spell check To my surprise…

Read More Read More

Reliance Mutual Fund Web Site Down

Reliance Mutual Fund Web Site Down

The Reliance Mutual Fund web site is down. The last time I checked, on June 5, 2008, I could not get in and today again I received gateway timeout (server unreachable). On further investigation I found that there are two domains for Reliance Mutual Funds: www.reliancemf.com www.reliancemutual.com When I discovered the reliancemf.com web site address I opened it in my regular browser, FireFox and to my surprise it opened up without any problems. I immediately tried the other site (reliancemutual.com)…

Read More Read More

Sundaram BNP Paribas Mutual Fund – Online Transactions Update

Sundaram BNP Paribas Mutual Fund – Online Transactions Update

I had written on Feb 26, 2008 that Sundaram BNP Paribas Mutual Fund has posted a page on online transactions on their web site. I check again today to see if their promised online transactions facility is available yet but unfortunately it still isn’t. They have not updated the page yet. Sundaram web site screen shot (Click for full size image) Get a move on Sundaram! As per the SEBI rules investors investing directly with the AMC can avail the…

Read More Read More

The Pigeons – June 11, 2008 (Empty Nest)

The Pigeons – June 11, 2008 (Empty Nest)

Day 31 of the Pigeon Chronicles… The story ends here. The second chick has also left the nest and flown away. I did not see it go. On June 9 I had written about how Bablu & I found the chick on the balcony parapet. Well it is gone now. And so ends the month long vigil. The morning photographs and the blog posts. One last photo to round off our chronicles… (Click for full size image)